Lambda Literary is proud to announce the opening of submissions for the 31st Annual Lambda Literary Awards.

The Lammys honor books in more than twenty genres ranging from literary fiction and poetry to speculative fiction, graphic novels, and memoir. New this year is the addition of a bisexual poetry category.

"We are thrilled to add bisexual poetry to the books we'll honor next year," said Ella Boureau, Lambda Literary Awards Manager. "Our community made it clear that this is an important category to recognize, and we listened."

Books submitted for consideration in this Lammys cycle must be published between January 1 and December 31, 2018 and meet all of the submission guidelines. Please read the guidelines carefully and choose the correct category before you submit.

Finalists will be announced in March 2019. Winners will be revealed at the Lambda Literary Awards awards ceremony held on June 3, 2019 at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts in New York City. Tickets for the gala go on sale in spring 2019.

The Lammys celebrate the best in lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender literature. Since the first ceremony in 1989, Lambda Literary has awarded more than 575 Lammys to outstanding authors, including Dorothy Allison, Hilton Als, Kate Bornstein, Rita Mae Brown, Samuel Delany, Leslie Feinberg, Roxane Gay, Carmen Maria Machado, CherrĂ­e Moraga, Armistead Maupin, Chinelo Okparanta, John Waters, and Jacqueline Woodson.

Click here to submit books now.


About Lambda Literary

LAMBDA LITERARY nurtures and advocates for LGBTQ writers, elevating the impact of their words to create community, preserve our legacies, and affirm the value of our stories and our lives. Our programs include the Lambda Literary Awards, the Writers Retreat for Emerging LGBTQ Voices, LGBTQ Writers in Schools, Lambda LitFest LA, and our web magazine the Lambda Literary Review.

Mailing List